Apr 2, 2020

2019 – Iowa Wild (4) vs. Tucson Roadrunners (5)


Iowa nearly overcame a four-goal deficit, pulling within one but ultimately falling to Tucson by a score of 5-4. After ending the first period tied 1-1, Tucson scored four goals in the second period to take a 5-1 lead through 40 minutes. Matt Bartkowski scored 24 seconds into the third period, igniting a furious comeback by the Wild. Goals by Sam Anas and Will Bitten moved the Wild within one goal, but the team couldn’t find the equalizer.


2017 – Iowa Wild (0) vs. Cleveland Monsters (4)


Cleveland handed the Wild a 4-0 loss at Wells Fargo Arena on April 2, 2017. Former Wild player Zac Dalpe opened the scoring for the Monsters, coming late in the first period, with T.J. Tynan, Justin Scott and Nick Moutrey adding the other tallies.


2016 – Iowa Wild (4) vs. Rockford IceHogs (3)


Iowa played a back and forth affair against the Rockford IceHogs and it was defenseman Tyson Strachan who played hero, scoring his first goal of the season midway through overtime to give the Wild the victory. Forward Marc Hagel recorded a multi-point affair, earning two assists in the contest, coming on the first goal and the game-winning tally.


2015 – Blum named IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year


Exactly one year to the date after his first award, Blum was once again honored by the Wild as the team’s IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year award. Blum is the only Wild player in team history to receive the award multiple times. Blum continued to participate in the Defending the Blue Line initiative, which donates tickets to military families throughout the Des Moines community. Blum named his tickets “Blum’s Brigade,” and they could be found at every game at Wells Fargo Arena. He also regularly participated in meet and greets with those who benefitted from his donated tickets.


2014 – Iowa Wild (1) at Grand Rapids Griffins (6); Blum named IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year


Making his pro debut, defenseman Gustav Olofsson scored the lone goal for the Wild as the Griffins scored six consecutive goals to take the victory at Van Andel Arena. But off the ice, Iowa named Jonathan Blum as the team’s Man of the Year for its inaugural season. Blum won the award thanks to his dedication to the Des Moines community, which included school visits, participating in the Defending the Blue Line initiative and he and his wife partnered with the Animal Rescue League for events throughout the season.

Back to All